6:00 am
January 1, 2009
Print Friendly

MT News

News of people and events important to the maintenance and reliability community


The Schneider Electric North American Operating Division (NAOD) has promoted Amelia A. Huntington to the position of chief operating officer (COO) NAOD and president of Schneider Electric USA, effective Jan. 1, 2009. In her new role, Huntington will have NAOD managerial responsibility for the United States, Canada, Mexico, Juno Lighting Group and several other core division functions and business operations.

Huntington’s promotion was announced by Chris Curtis, who will remain CEO of NAOD, as well as assume additional responsibilities in leading the corporation’s global Building Automation and Energy Efficiency business. Curtis also is a member of the Schneider Electric Executive Committee.


One year after international pump corporation Grundfos added Peerless Pump Company to its portfolio, it now has acquired Yeomans Chicago Corporation (YCC) of Aurora, IL. YCC sells products under the Yeomans Pump, Chicago Pump and Morris Pumps brands and focuses primarily in the wastewater and sewage markets. Speaking about the acquisition, Jes Munk Hansen, president of Grundfos North America, noted: “The synergies with the Peerless, PACO, Yeomans and Grundfos brands will provide an immediate positive impact. There is no doubt that all of our customers will benefit from this powerful combination.”

In business for more than 110 years, Yeomans operations will become part of Grundfos North American operations and overseen by the Peerless group based in Indianapolis, IN. Peerless president Dean Douglas will become CEO of the combined Yeomans and Peerless operations.

(EDITOR’S NOTE: The $2 billion North American wastewater pump market driven by aging infrastructure, changing demographics and changing discharge regulations is expected to grow at a minimum of 5% annually.)


Flowserve has announced the opening of a new Quick Response Center (QRC) for valves in Portage, IN. QRCs are maintenance, repair and manufacturing operations strategically located throughout the world to supply Flowserve customers with a range of local services that help support the reliability of their rotating equipment. The 10,000-sq. ft. Portage QRC, the newest such facility in the Flowserve network, will be supplying full machining, welding and service capabilities for Valtek and Kammer valve customers in a six-state region, including Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin.


Have your battle cry heard—your energy efficiency battle cry—or help put a deserving spotlight on someone else’s. The Alliance to Save Energy (ASE) is inviting individuals and organizations to submit nominations for this year’s round of its prestigious”Stars Of Energy Efficiency Awards.” Categories include:

  • Charles Percy Award for Public Service: This award recognizes an individual for an outstanding public service contribution and/or a lifetime commitment to energy efficiency.
  • “Galaxy” Star of Energy Efficiency: Nominees with more than $150 million in annual revenue are eligible.
  • “Super Nova” Star of Energy Efficiency: Nominees with less than $150 million in annual revenue are eligible.
  • “Andromeda” Star of Energy Efficiency: Nominees with less than $10 million in annual revenue are eligible.
  • “I-Star” Award for Energy Efficiency: This award recognizes the outstanding contributions to energy efficiency achieved through special projects or activities overseas that are led by nominees based outside of the U.S. territories.
  • “Innovative” Star of Energy Efficiency Award: This award recognizes an emerging technology or service that has the potential to transform a sector of the energy efficiency market but which, given the early stage of the innovation, has yet to generate proven savings.

These awards will be presented at ASE’s “17th Annual Evening With The Stars of Energy Efficiency Dinner and Awards Ceremony,” slated for Sept. 17, 2009, at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, in Washington, DC. For more information on this prestigious program, or to make a nomination, visit www.ase.org/dinner or contact Audrey Cotton at acotton@ase.org. MT

Your News Is Our New!Our Readers Want To Know All About It! Send MT News Items To: jalexander@atpnetwork.com